Stepper Motor Fun

Picked up a set of stepper motors off Amazon.  Cheap and just fine for learning the basics. Might be powerful enough to use to replace heavier servos or whatever I can come up with.

Longruner 5x Geared Stepper Motor 28byj 48 Uln2003 5v Stepper Motor Uln2003 Driver Board for arduino (Stepper Motor + Driver Board + Cable)

Some of my designs have needs for a stepper, whether it is to control the position of a solar panel or deployment of landing gear (multiple options though). Will see how this goes.

Thank you to 42 Bots for explaining how to use the little modules. After burning out one of  my microcontrollers, I wanted to be sure on what bits did what before connecting the board. It’s pretty straight forward, but it doesn’t hurt to be sure.  As usual, I’ll be using something other than an Arduino so I get to make my own libraries to use the steppers for both the EFM8sb2 and the Parallax Propeller using C.

 

Leave a Reply

